A College Campus

Last night I met up with two lifelong friends. We are all born within two days of each other. We attended grade school together. We played soccer together. We took dance class together. We prayed together; cried together; and got leeches wading in the river behind my house together.

Years passed and we have faded in and out of contact with each other. Last night we picked up as if nothing had ever happened. I felt like a little girl again. We laughed during the presentation to the point I thought I was going to have to leave the room.

And just like that – those three gangling girls are full grown women – a clinical laboratory scientist, a nun, and an educator.

I posted the picture on Facebook this morning. It is amazing how social media keeps us all connected. People who I haven’t seen since grade school commented and liked the picture.

The quote I felt was perfect “Everyone has a friend in each stage of life, but only the lucky ones have the same friend in all stages of life.”

I am so lucky. I am so blessed. And as I look at my students I hope for the same for each of them.

Leave a Reply

