Hello.

Yesterday I was in the airport. My heart rate was finally slowing after getting out of work, praying for no traffic, finding a space in the parking garage, taking the shuttle to the other terminal, clearing security, and taking the tram to my gate. I used the restroom and was headed to grab a snack before my flight.

As I left the restroom, I passed by the gentleman cleaning the men’s restroom. As I passed he said, “hello.” While continuing forward, mentally I stopped. “Hi,” I replied.

“How are you doing today?” came the response.

“I’m well, how about you.”

Little does he know what that hello meant to me. He saw me. How often is he invisible to the world? Daily he goes to work in one of the busiest airports yet who knows how many people stop to see him? But he stopped to say hello.

Leave a Reply

