Yesterday Was Five Days Before Thanksgiving

I missed yesterday’s gratitude post. I was too busy living experiences for which I am grateful.

I’m grateful for my job.

The students I work with help me keep perspective on life.

The business and the 24/7 activity provide me both an outlet for my focus and energy as well as a welcome distraction.

It reminds me of the shortness of time and of life. Each year we receive a new group of students and every June we say goodbye, leaving a little piece of our hearts with each student that has passed through our care.

When I am down and out, being with them helps me to pull myself out of myself.

Accompanying them as they face their difficulties gives me so much hope through witnessing their strength and knowing that they are forming the ability to overcome obstacles in the future.

I’m lucky to work in a microcosm of society – seeing all the good, truth, and beauty there is in this world that is a valley of tears.

wpid-fb_img_1447998485300.jpg

Leave a Reply

