Seeing with the Heart

Spoiler alert… I’ve bought my dad a pop up book of The Little Prince for Christmas.

He has always talked about that book.

Maybe even in French.

So I need to write a letter to go with the book.

The problem…

… No inspiration.

None.

Zero.

So maybe if I blog, I’ll come up with something.

I annotated the book. Which seems a little like a sacrilege.

There are so many truths in this book… seeing with the eyes of a child… how things aren’t always what they appear to be… satisfaction… perspective… the universe… about seeing with the eyes of the heart.

“But eyes are blind. You have to look with the heart.”

There is so much I want to tell my dad that I can’t. I can’t because I don’t have the words. I can’t because he doesn’t know the half of it. I can’t because of my mom.

My mom is bipolar and half of the things I would want to say to my dad I can’t because he needs to be there for my mom. He is treats her like a queen. She is his queen. And I would never take that away from him.

“What makes them beautiful is invisible!”

The truth is there is so much beyond appearances. There is so much that no one sees – so much that I never saw.

“In those days, I didn’t understand anything.”

Over the years how much pain there has been. How many unanswered questions – that still go unanswered.

“It’s so mysterious the land of tears.”

But above all it is learning to see beyond, to recognize the hidden that is right in front of our noses. And knowing that there is something much bigger than us out there.

“The Christmas-tree lights, the music of midnight mass, the tenderness of people’s smiles made up, in the same way, the whole radiance of the Christmas present I received.”

Merry Christmas, Dad.

Leave a Reply

