26.crazy

“Oh, you’re one of those. You’re crazy.”

Words that would normally be an insult. But maybe it was the New Year’s Eve spirit… or the liquid libations… or the fact that I plain and simple wear those words with pride!

63b182c9cb801b581b391701c164e987

This all came after I was told by some [drunk] guy at the New Year’s Eve party that there was no way I was going to eat that food. He didn’t come flat out and say it, but he was referring to how little I am. And yes, I looked tiny in my little black dress. There are pictures from that night that I dislike of myself because I’m so scrawny.

Luckily I had my wits about me and refrained from spitting something back like, “that’s what happens when you have an eating disorder.” Instead I said, “I ran five miles this morning, you bet I’m going to eat it.”

To which he replied with aforementioned comment.

d2f4945e16f222f224fd35939f7ebd90

Perhaps that’s why I don’t get drunk. I’d probably confess my eating disorder to anyone who would listen to me. (Like my roommate did to me one night when she was drunk. I still wonder if she remembers that.)

But it does take a little bit of crazy to be a marathon runner.

And that little bit of crazy is mental strength. It is the ability to follow through and to do what you set your mind to – no matter the mental, physical, or emotional obstacles.

I am a little crazy because I pull myself out of bed in the morning to go to the gym. I’m a little crazy because I will go out and run in Chicago along Lakeshore Drive with real-feel temperatures in the teens in running capris because I forgot long running pants.

20160102_101335.jpg

I’m a little crazy because I’m willing to sacrifice pain and discomfort for a reward that is not material but is simply the satisfaction of knowing a little more about myself and proving to myself that I’m stronger than I thought I was.

b07ff55d98ae02992199ed7775fabf9f

So, yes, I’m crazy. And I’m proud to be crazy. I’m one of those.

img_20151202_122840.jpg

#26.2

P.S. But those people who do 100 milers – they are really crazy.

(Crazy may look a little like 898.19 miles in 2015. I know I can do more than that in 2016.)

Leave a Reply

