Baby Fingers, Questions, and Meaning

So this morning I read this article.

It corresponds a lot with things that have been on my mind recently…

… because of watching people hurt…

… because of a funeral of 27 year old I attended a few months back…

… because of changing dynamics in friendships…

… because my studies are all about the person and what makes us a person (cue brain hurting)…

“The more human beings know reality and the world, the more they know themselves in their uniqueness, with the question of the meaning of things and of their very existence becoming ever more pressing.” -John Paul II, Fides et Ratio

Yesterday I held a newborn…

… three days old…

… her whole lifetime…

… tiny cheeks, fingers, and toes…

… so fragile…

… so precious…

… so much potential…

… so in need of protection…

And what is my life about?

So many little moments… like I tell my students, every day, every moment is colored and makes up a part of the mosaic of their year… and, on a larger scale, our lives…

… Finger Lakes wine (a gift from a suitor) and Swiss chocolates (gifts from the students) with a good friend on Friday night curled up by the fire…

… laughing till my sides ached at a white elephant gift exchange…

… giggles during night prayers with the younger cousins…

… cheers with my aunt to awkward first dates…

… and the visiting priest from this ministry. He told us the story of Valentina, a young girl in Nicaragua who had been abandoned by her family at age 3, left to scavenge in garbage dumps for food and recyclables. She was sold into slavery at age 7 and brought to their mission at age 13. She stood before them, fifteen now, and share her story of hope.

The questions will continue to hound us all. They have for centuries. Perhaps that’s the most encouraging thing I’m finding through all my studies – I’m not alone in my quest. Man has sought the meaning of life for all of times. And I read what they have found and I am encouraged in my own search.

The priest concluded on Sunday:

“Don’t tell your God how big your problems are…

… tell your problems how big your God is.”

Today has meaning… because I am a person capable of knowing and loving God and others. My destiny is in whom I am created to be, in my personhood, in my dignity. I am not a lost individual in this dark and scary world, I am a person capable of seeking and finding truth and living that communion one day fully for all eternity.

Leave a Reply

