Walking Takes Too Long

So there is this challenge out there: 2016 miles in 2016.

Yeah, not happening. I could probably drive 2016 miles. (Ok, I’ll drive way more than that.)

But I would like to break 1000 miles in 2016.

Which, thank you El Nino, global warming, or whatever you are… I’m feeling much more optimistic about after 92 miles in January! I got in three really good long outdoor runs – wrapping up the month with 10 miles this past Saturday.

Marathon training officially begins in March. So I’m trying to steadily increase my mileage so I’m ready to start training. That means – getting to bed earlier, so I can get up earlier… Not doing too great on that front.

My first waking thought this morning as I stared at my alarm was, “I should be in my car right now.”

So sleep has become a new goal. (Which also means leaving work earlier and not procrastinating on homework… which means being more productive during the day… which has me wondering why I’m blogging right now!)

I’m excited to train for the marathon, but having to put this much thought into my running is a little frustrating. I don’t like planning to run or calculating how far or how fast. (But I do like adding up the miles at the end of the month!) This process of getting ready for this next marathon is already teaching me so much about myself… about forming more self-discipline in my daily life, about knowing when on Sunday I need to just nap on the couch and leave the to-do list to collect dust on the kitchen table, about pursuing a goal every single day… because if I want to qualify for Boston than everything I do does count.

img_20140719_134006.jpg

“I’ll never know how far I can go unless I try.”

In January I made it up to at least 2 miles each day. (Meaning I also managed to get myself out of bed five minutes earlier than previous months.) Except Thursdays, for some reason Thursdays must have been hard to wake up.

By the end of February I want to get up to 3-5 miles a day and add more cross training.

Here’s to the trip along the way!

3 thoughts on “Walking Takes Too Long

    1. I’m running the Bayshore Marathon – it is supposed to be flat, fast, and beautiful. I’m hoping to qualify for Boston. At least I’m less nervous than I was for the first! You’ll do great. The journey to the start line is far greater than the actual marathon itself.

Leave a Reply

