Waiting…

Dear Woman Waiting for the School Bus,

I see you there every day. You stand at the end of the driveway. It isn’t a long driveway. It is a quiet street. You stand in your long black coat, staring down the street. The street curves and you stare towards that curve, waiting for the bus to appear.

You are there every day. You don’t move. You don’t turn as I pass you by. Your stare is unwavering. You aren’t on your phone. You are motionless.

I’ve always wondered whom you wait for.

Today I saw a little girl get off the bus and run to you. You took her hand. You walked back to the house with her. That is one lucky little girl.

I just want to let you know that you impress me. I love seeing you there. The contrast of the loneliness of the waiting and the joy of the little girl are impressed upon my memory.

Life will go on, but I know that little girl will always have that memory. She doesn’t realize why it is so special. She is used to it. But as I drove by today a tear slid down my cheek.

Thank you for loving her so much,

N.

Leave a Reply

