2 for 2

So I’m 2 for 2 on not running the races I’ve signed up for this year… The marathon because I will be out of the country. The Holy Half at Notre Dame this morning because we couldn’t make it there because of the snow last night… Which I felt better about when it got called off due to weather this morning.

I’m relieved. I needed a day to sleep in and veg in my sweats.

I’m also dreading the long run on my own that I need to get in today. Not dreading the run… Dreading the fact that I will do it on a treadmill. I’m DONE with running in the snow. Luckily it looks like the weather may finally turn next week.

March came up with 86 miles despite the fact that I only got one long run in.

It is a good thing I dropped out of the marathon. I don’t have time for the long runs.

But I have to get one in today because I’ll be traveling again next weekend.

So I’ve read a few articles this week about cheating in racing. The woman who is permanently banned from the Boston Marathon for giving her bib to someone else and using that person’s time to qualify for the next year’s race. The woman from what it seems cut the course in Canada’s Ironman. I rarely have time to read an article in its totality (much less blog)… But I found myself riveted. I can’t imagine what would motivate someone to do that. (But then again I also know when I make mistakes I often find myself incomprehensible.) But I am not here to question them, what I did find myself focusing on is my love for the run.

We are racing against ourselves. That was the point I loved in the Miller article. That is what I love about the longer distances. I know it is highly unlikely that I would win. 5ks and 10ks – there is a possibility of winning and I’ve won my fair share. Winning is a great feeling. But more than winning I like the feeling of challenging myself, pushing myself to the limit, pushing myself farther than I thought I could, feeling free, feeling strong, feeling powerful.

That is what I why I run. That is why my run today will be great – even on a treadmill in the gym. Because that feeling goes with me not matter where I run. (I’ll just miss the race day adrenaline.)

I don’t want to be better than everyone else. I want to be my best. And that is what I learning by running.

 

Leave a Reply

