Eyes Wide Open

I’ve never found something that accurately describes what I love so much about travel… as I currently sit with my hood on my hoodie up and the warmth of my laptop is far too comforting as I try to stay warm on the bus…

Yes… it is the getting away and actually disconnecting – except that I couldn’t relax last night because I knew the work and homework hanging over my head wasn’t going away.

It is one of the three things I spend money on myself for… but that stresses me out.

I take a bit of joy in proving to myself that travel doesn’t have to stress you out because my mom was always very stressed about travel and it almost took the joy out of traveling for me. I have on occasion waiting to pack until moments before leaving just to prove to myself that it doesn’t have to be stressful. But let’s be honest some of my less glamorous  moments have been around travel as well. (Aka me shouting down the street for the counselors and campers to come back this afternoon.)

So I’ve always had a hard time putting my finger on just what it is that I love so much about travel.

And last night when perusing Pinterest I found this quote which begins to point us in the right direction:

f61d4ecb30e54ac84b6ec9d98aa6ebe8.jpg

Travel is about the experiences, the memories, the people you meet along the way (friends and strangers)… the food (which I often am able to enjoy)…

But then I found this quote (because I apparently couldn’t sleep), and it summed up exactly what I was feeling last night…

49bd25ab25daecc8b4afeef93d39aaef.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Heightened state of awareness… mindful… receptive… and undimmed by familiarity…

That is what I enjoyed for the past two days in a city…

not a new city…

a city I’ve been to several times…

But the magic of travel makes it all new…

The  fountains beside the escalator in the mall…

the garden plots in the sidewalks…

the locals running along the lake shore before 7am…

the 40 some people at Church at 7am before heading to work…

the buildings – the marvelous architecture…

overlapping of styles…

beauty, history, and humanity all wrapped up in one place…

the homeless man curled up in a doorway…

the bellman who ushered us away from the door after getting caught in a torrential  downpour…

the  blown away umbrella…

the overly pierced DJ setting  up in Top Shop..

the girl and her mother in matching outfits…

the little girl in the mall with the most adorable outfit..

our friendly bellman…

the stressed out business woman waiting for her Starbucks…

the free iced coffee from the lady in McDonalds who appreciated our group…

so many little things.. so many details wrapped up in 24 hours… all noticed because one can’t go somewhere out of their comfort zone without traveling with eyes wide open.

 

Leave a Reply

