Recovery

I haven’t written much… partly because I don’t have time… Partly because this process has many stages and some of them are to be lived and not written about.

But I look back and  I can’t believe how far I have come.

And this post is for all of those (who may not find this or read this) who are googling “eating disorder recovery.” That was me one day. I wanted to know if this was possible. I wanted to read a story of someone who had made it through. Because I wanted a story of someone who understood the battle and made it through. So many stories of “you will live with this forever”.. and I always preferred to believe in this impossible.

And I’m living the impossible. And I believe in something even better than what I’m living today. It hasn’t been perfect. There are still triggers. But I am living something that I never thought was possible.

It does get better. It is worth digging to find the root. Because finding the root – the hole you are trying to fill… It is painful… But when you find it, it does get better. It is scary as s***… It feels like it may break you. But it won’t. You are strong enough.

I found the root. It hurts. It still does. But it is healing.

And finding the root has changed the path of recovery. It took a lot of time. I had to dig through a lot of layers. I reached a point at which I thought I would never reach the bottom layer. I was tired. I am tired. But I have reached the bottom layer and it is healing…

And the recovery is happening… it takes time. But when you face the hole – you no longer have to try to fill it with food or the pain of hunger.

It does get better. And the journey changes you.

One thought on “Recovery

Leave a Reply

