Tears

I drove home from the city today with a baby screaming… not crying, screaming… for the whole way.

I so rarely cry anymore. How many days and nights I cried… and before that how many days and nights I held back or refused to cry…

The other day I was watching Cheaper By The Dozen 2… Steve Martin… and the tears spilled over. It was the dumbest scene ever. Steve Martin’s movies are hardly known for their emotional depth… but there I was.

I no longer fear tears.

There will surely be a day in the future when I cry more. 

But I never imagined I would make it to this place where I am no longer holding back and no longer crying daily…

Tears have helped me heal. They’ve helped me feel and express what I couldn’t express with words. They’ve washed away the barriers revealing the heart below.

Leave a comment